New to PHP - question on syntax

westside
Go to solution Solved by Jacques1,

Hi,

I'm very new to PHP, 2 days in fact, but I've done some programming in other languages.   I'm trying to do something pretty basic here.  I've inherited a site built on WordPress and I'm trying to override one of the php files contained in a wordpress plugin to do what I want.

I have this line:

<label>

<?php if ( ! $account_required ) echo '<small>' . __( '(optional)', 'wp-jm' ) . '</small>'; ?>

</label>

I understand what the code is doing, if condition is false, then output the HTML <small> tag, I want to add and else condition to the above, that outputs the word "required" in place of where the word optional is.  So if $account_required = false then shows the optional in parenthesis as it does now, otherwise I want to show the word "required" in the parenthesis.  Super simple, but just can't get the syntax quite right.

Also, can someone explain the double underscore part, specifically this:     __( '(optional)', 'wp-jm' )       I understand in PHP periods are used to concatenate, but what is the leading double underscore right before the word "optional" in parenthesis? it's as if there is some function being called or referenced.  The end result when the HTML is rendered is "(optional)", but what's up with the leading underscore and the reference to "wp-jm" I assume that there is some plugin or something...

Any help appreciated.

Thanks....

Edited by westside

Super simple, but just can't get the syntax quite right.

So how does your syntax look like?

Also, can someone explain the double underscore part, specifically this:     __( '(optional)', 'wp-jm' )

This isn't any special syntax, it's a normal function which happens to be called “__”. And if you have a look at the Workpress manual, you'll see that it's used for localization.