Concept Consultation [php + js]

Micard
Go to solution Solved by scootstah,

Hello there! Long story short, I'm just practicing and playing around making this online multiplayer game, mmorpg basically. Hold on there throwing rotten tomatoes at me  :happy-04:  No-no, it's going well, I'm pretty satisfied with the results. I have a pretty solid knowledge of C++ so it's going pretty easy with PHP, not to mention that I have some experience. 

Now when that is settled. I have a php-driven client with a mysql database. Okay. Stuff's working, all's great. The thing is, I want to kind of walk away from reloading pages and doing lame checkboxes for specifying hit location and all that. I want to implement some real graphics, animations, etc. The thing is I have a very little experience in JavaScript. I still have some but it's not enough to answer my questions. Here's what I want.

drawing.png

In the middle is a "dynamic game window". I do not want to refresh the page every time I click on the character or map button, or for example I want the area to be scrollable (for the map for instance). Same for chat. And I am not sure how to do that using both php and js. I know you could do it all using just js but I don't know it as well as I know php, at least I want to believe I know it well enough for this task.

If you great all-knowing masters could give me a piece of advice, I'd really appreciate that.

I have some ideas, if you could just direct me.

IDEAS:

1) Gamewindow - js. All other stuff - php. PHP page with a js script on it. Wouldn't it be slower than other options? How to implement this interaction between js and php scripts? There's exmaple on the drawing. So if I click on that button a js script would be called. (is it as easy as href='script.js' and I am just a dum-dum?)

2) Both gamewindow and navigation - js. I don't have a clear idea on how to do that, but it certainly has its advantages.