if and form

marsheng

I'm new to this. Coming from a traditional language - HTML PHP etc is quite a challenge.  The main issues I have is the mixing of HTML and PHP code. How and when??

I'm using a $_SERVER["PHP_SELF"] form and I want to display options depending on whether the user just entered the form or adding data. $status is used to determine what has happened. Needless to say that the if line crashes.

<form action=<?php echo htmlspecialchars($_SERVER["PHP_SELF"]); ?>  method="post">
           <?php
            if ($status ==0) {
                LicenceNo: <input type="text" name="LicenceNo" />        
                <input type="submit" value="Enter">
            }
         ?>
    </form>    

You should avoid mixing PHP and HTML whenever possible, because jumping in and out of PHP mode leads to spaghetti code and the kind of syntax errors you're currently struggling with.

A good structure for beginners is the following: Put all business logic (i. e. the code which does the heavy lifting) on top of the script. Then switch to HTML mode and only use small PHP snippets to generate dynamic HTML markup. Note that everything between <?php and ?> must be valid PHP code. You cannot randomly insert HTML elements.

<?php

// the business logic goes here; after you're done, leave PHP mode and start the HTML document

function html_escape($raw_input, $encoding)
{
    return htmlspecialchars($raw_input, ENT_QUOTES | ENT_SUBSTITUTE, $encoding);
}

$age = 44;

?>
<!-- at this point, use PHP only to generate HTML -->
<!DOCTYPE html>
    <html lang="en">
    <head>
        <meta charset="utf-8">
        <title>Title</title>
    </head>
    <body>
        <?php if ($age >= 21): ?>
            <p>Your age is <?= html_escape($age, 'UTF-8') ?>. You may proceed.</p>
        <?php else: ?>
            <p>You're too young to visit this page.</p>
        <?php endif; ?>
    </body>
</html>