Array in for or foreach from database

sigmahokies

Hi everyone,

I am still learning PHP. I am trying to get data from database which "show tables from (ojbect)" that pour into array, then set them up in the select and option in HTML, I can't figure why it won't work to get data from table to get in loop as for and foreach. I don't think "[ ]" will help in PHP, will it? Can anyone please help me? thank you so much!

$show = "show tables from XXXX";    $table = mysqli_query($GaryDB, $show);    while($row = mysqli_fetch_array($table)) {        $tables = array($row);    foreach($tables as $select) {        for($i = 0; $i < count($select); $i++) {        $list = "<option name='choose' value='".$select[i]."'>".$select[i]."</option>";        }    }    }

Hi everyone again, I made mistake...but still not work.

here my recode in PHP

$show = "show tables from XXXX";    $table = mysqli_query($GaryDB, $show);    while($row = mysqli_fetch_array($table)) {        $tables[] = $row;        for($i = 0; $i < count($tables); $i++) {            $list = "<option value='".$tables[$i]."'>".$tables[$i]."</option>";        }    }

i recommend a programming practice called separation of concerns. the database specific code, that knows how to execute the query and fetch the data, is one concern, and the presentation code, that knows how to produce the output from the data, is a separate concern.

the way to separate these is to just fetch the data into an appropriately named php variable, then use that variable as the input to the presentation code.

doing this will make it easier to design, write, and test code, because you can display the output from the first step to make sure it is correct, before going on to the next step.

see the the following pseudo code - 

// database specific code
$sql = the_sql_query_statement;
$result = mysqli_query($GaryDB, $sql);
$table_result = [];
while($row = mysqli_fetch_array($result))
{
    $table_result[] = $row;
}

// examine the data