[SOLVED] Need explanation for these SQL things

wolfcry044

I've been reading guide after guide, and I have not found any real down to earth explanations for some things. I've been only learning PHP and SQL for a few days now, so please bear that in mind.
I'll list the things I need help on in here. I just basically need to know what they do, and what they are used for in an easy as possible way to understand. I've learned tons over the past few days, but I'm not good with syntax and stuff yet. I know basically how most things work. I've created applications, hooked up to database, drawn information from it, etc. if you go to [url=http://www.uafclan.com]www.uafclan.com[/url] you will see a few things I've been working on. I've done tons of tutorials, and made lots of little things doing those tutorials.

Anyway, Here's the list of things I would very much like to understand better how they work, what they are for, etc. Thank you so much, this will help me a ton!

1.type:
Example- mediumint, smallint, etc. What are all those for?

2.Collation

3. Attributes

4. NULL

5. Default

6. Extra

7. Index *What's that do?*

8. Primary *Is that the same as Index? what's it do?*

9. Unique [I'm guess that's the default for everything.

10. Length/Values- That is just to determine how long the characters will be right?
If so, is it bad to set them all to 255? I'm not sure if it drains the database if I set them all to 255 or not.

11. Comments- I know what comments are, but what do they do here? Just for reference?

12. Charset

1. type  -> exactly what it says you can read more here http://help.scibit.com/Mascon/masconMySQL_Field_Types.html
2. Collation -> This is the language and character type
3. Attributes -> This is Unsigned http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/numeric-types.html
4. NULL -> This is weather or not you want the field to allow null values
5. DEFAULT -> What you want the default value to be if nothing is set at time of insert