pixeltrace Posted February 20, 2007 Share Posted February 20, 2007 guys, i need help. i have a page view.php i have a pagina working already before on this page until i placed a drop down menu that will sort the items on the table via name, client id, joined date, reg date, etc i tried the drop down codes without the pagina first and it worked. now when i combined the two functions i am getting some errors. below is the error ============ Notice: Undefined variable: sort in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\view.php on line 10 Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 90 Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 63 Warning: mysql_free_result(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 68 Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 63 Warning: mysql_free_result(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 68 Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 63 Warning: mysql_free_result(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 68 Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 63 Warning: mysql_free_result(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 68 Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 63 Warning: mysql_free_result(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 68 Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 63 Warning: mysql_free_result(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\my_pagina_class.php on line 68 ===================================== this is my codes for the drop down menu without the pagina <table width="100" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td><img src="../images/spacer.gif" width="6" height="10"></td> <td><table width="216" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td colspan="3" valign="top" bgcolor="#3261BB"><img src="images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="1"></td> </tr> <tr> <td align="left" bgcolor="#3261BB" width="1"><img src="images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="1"></td> <td width="214" valign="top"><table width="794" border="0" cellspacing="2" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td colspan="6"><table width="616" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td width="329" class="text6"> total record found : </td> <td width="287"> </td> </tr> </table></td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="6"><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td width="459"> </td> <td width="158" class="text6">sort by : <select name="sortby" onFocus="selectedIndex = 0" onChange="if( options[selectedIndex].value != '') document.location = options[selectedIndex].value" class="sorteventlist"> <option value="clientmngr.php">--Please Select--</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=1" <?=($_GET['type']==1)?"selected":"" ?>>name</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=2" <?=($_GET['type']==2)?"selected":"" ?>>client ID</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=3" <?=($_GET['type']==3)?"selected":"" ?>>reg date</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=4" <?=($_GET['type']==4)?"selected":"" ?>>joined date</option> </select> </td> </tr> </table></td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="6"> </td> </tr> <tr> <td width="58" align="center" bgcolor="#83C2ED" class="text5">ID</td> <td width="215" align="center" valign="top" bgcolor="#83C2ED" class="text5">name</td> <td width="91" align="center" bgcolor="#83C2ED" class="text5">joined date </td> <td width="200" align="center" bgcolor="#83C2ED" class="text5">rate agreed </td> <td width="175" align="center" bgcolor="#83C2ED" class="text5">remark</td> <td width="41" bgcolor="#83C2ED"> </td> </tr> <? $type = (!empty($_GET['type']))?$_GET['type']:1; { $order=array(1=>'client_name',2=>'clientid',3=>'staff_created',4=>'staff_created'); if (!empty($type)) $sort="ORDER by '".$order[$type]."'"; } ?> <? include 'db_connect.php'; $uSql = "SELECT clientid, client_name, day_joined, month_joined, year_joined, client_rate, client_remarks FROM clients ".$sort." ASC"; $uResult = mysql_query($uSql, $connection); if(!$uResult){ echo 'no data found'; } else { while($uRow = mysql_fetch_row($uResult)){ ?> <tr> <td bgcolor="#FFFFCC" class="text8"> C <?= $uRow[0]?></td> <td bgcolor="#FFFFCC" class="text8"> <?= $uRow[1]?></td> <td bgcolor="#FFFFCC" class="text8"> <?= $uRow[2]?> - <?= $uRow[3]?> - <?= $uRow[4]?></td> <td bgcolor="#FFFFCC" class="text8"> <?= $uRow[5]?></td> <td bgcolor="#FFFFCC" class="text8"> <?= $uRow[6]?></td> <td align="center" bgcolor="#FFFFCC"><a href="clientedit.php?$clientid=$clientid" class="link1">edit</a></td> </tr> <? } } ?> <tr> <td colspan="6"> </td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="6"> </td> </tr> </table></td> <td align="right" bgcolor="#3261BB" width="1"><img src="images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="1"></td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="3" valign="top" bgcolor="#3261BB"><img src="images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="1"></td> </tr> </table></td> <td><img src="../images/spacer.gif" width="6" height="10"></td> </tr> </table> and this is my code for the combined pagina and drop down menu codes <?php session_start(); if (session_is_registered("username")){ include($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT']."/admean/client/my_pagina_class.php"); $test = new JHpage; $test->sql = "SELECT * FROM clients ".$sort." ASC"; // the (basic) sql statement (use the SQL whatever you like) $result = $test->get_page_result(); // result set $num_rows = $test->get_page_num_rows(); // number of records in result set $nav_links = $test->navigation(" | ", "currentStyle"); // the navigation links (define a CSS class selector for the current link) $nav_info = $test->page_info(); // information about the number of records on page ("to" is the text between the number) $simple_nav_links = $test->back_forward_link(true); // the navigation with only the back and forward links, use true to use images $total_recs = $test->get_total_rows(); // the total number of records ?> <table width="100" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td><img src="../images/spacer.gif" width="6" height="10"></td> <td><table width="216" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td colspan="3" valign="top" bgcolor="#3261BB"><img src="images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="1"></td> </tr> <tr> <td align="left" bgcolor="#3261BB" width="1"><img src="images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="1"></td> <td width="214" valign="top"><table width="929" border="0" cellspacing="2" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td colspan="6"><table width="616" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td width="329" class="text6"> <?php echo "total record found:" .$total_recs; ?></td> <td width="287"> </td> </tr> </table></td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="6"><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td width="539"> </td> <td width="239" align="right" class="text6">sort by : <select name="sortby" onFocus="selectedIndex = 0" onChange="if( options[selectedIndex].value != '') document.location = options[selectedIndex].value" class="sorteventlist"> <option value="clientmngr.php">--Please Select--</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=1" <?=($_GET['type']==1)?"selected":"" ?>>name</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=2" <?=($_GET['type']==2)?"selected":"" ?>>client ID</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=3" <?=($_GET['type']==3)?"selected":"" ?>>reg date</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=4" <?=($_GET['type']==4)?"selected":"" ?>>joined date</option> </select> </td> <td width="12" align="right" class="text6"><img src="../images/spacer.gif" width="12" height="10"></td> </tr> </table></td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="6"><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td width="60%"> </td> <td width="39%" align="right"><!-- nav top --> <? echo "<span class='link1'>".$nav_links."</span>"; ?> </td> <td width="1%" align="right"><img src="../images/spacer.gif" width="12" height="10" /></td> </tr> </table></td> </tr> <tr> <td width="63" align="center" bgcolor="#83C2ED" class="text5">ID</td> <td width="283" align="center" valign="top" bgcolor="#83C2ED" class="text5">name</td> <td width="93" align="center" bgcolor="#83C2ED" class="text5">joined date </td> <td width="236" align="center" bgcolor="#83C2ED" class="text5">rate agreed </td> <td width="194" align="center" bgcolor="#83C2ED" class="text5">remark</td> <td width="46" bgcolor="#83C2ED"> </td> </tr> <? $type = (!empty($_GET['type']))?$_GET['type']:1; { $order=array(1=>'client_name',2=>'clientid',3=>'staff_created',4=>'staff_created'); if (!empty($type)) $sort="ORDER by '".$order[$type]."'"; } ?> <?php for ($i = 0; $i < $num_rows; $i++) { $clientid = mysql_result($result, $i, "clientid"); $client_name = mysql_result($result, $i, "client_name"); $day_joined = mysql_result($result, $i, "day_joined"); $month_joined = mysql_result($result, $i, "month_joined"); $year_joined = mysql_result($result, $i, "year_joined"); $client_rate = mysql_result($result, $i, "client_rate"); $client_remarks = mysql_result($result, $i, "client_remarks"); ?> <tr> <td bgcolor="#FFFFCC" class="text8"> C <? echo ($clientid <= 9) ? " ".$clientid : $clientid;?></td> </td><td bgcolor="#FFFFCC" class="text8"> <? echo "$client_name";?> </td><td bgcolor="#FFFFCC" class="text8"> <? echo "$day_joined";?> - <? echo "$month_joined";?> - <? echo "$year_joined";?> </td><td bgcolor="#FFFFCC" class="text8"> <? echo "$client_rate";?> </td><td bgcolor="#FFFFCC" class="text8"> <? echo "$client_remarks";?> </td><td align="center" bgcolor="#FFFFCC"><a href="clientedit.php?clientid=$clientid" class="link1">edit</a></td> </tr> <? } ?> <tr> <td colspan="6" bgcolor="#83C2ED"><span class="text6"><img src="../images/spacer.gif" width="10" height="2" /></span></td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="6"><table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td width="60%"> </td> <td width="39%" align="right"><!-- nav top --> <? echo "<span class='link1'>".$nav_links."</span>"; ?> </td> <td width="1%" align="right"><img src="../images/spacer.gif" width="12" height="10" /></td> </tr> </table></td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="6"> </td> </tr> </table></td> <td align="right" bgcolor="#3261BB" width="1"><img src="images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="1"></td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="3" valign="top" bgcolor="#3261BB"><img src="images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="1"></td> </tr> </table></td> <td><img src="../images/spacer.gif" width="6" height="10"></td> </tr> </table> <? }else{ echo "<font face=\"Arial\">You are not authorized to access this page ... Please <a href='../index.php'>Login</a></font>"; } ?> need help please! thanks in advance! Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/39330-problem-on-my-codes/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
Balmung-San Posted February 20, 2007 Share Posted February 20, 2007 $test->sql = "SELECT * FROM clients ".$sort." ASC"; $sort hasn't been defined in your code. That's what's causing all your errors. At least I don't see $sort defined anywhere in your code. Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/39330-problem-on-my-codes/#findComment-189640 Share on other sites More sharing options...
pixeltrace Posted February 20, 2007 Author Share Posted February 20, 2007 thats actually the problem that i am seeing the $sort is actually in the middle of the codes <? $type = (!empty($_GET['type']))?$_GET['type']:1; { $order=array(1=>'client_name',2=>'clientid',3=>'staff_created',4=>'staff_created'); if (!empty($type)) $sort="ORDER by '".$order[$type]."'"; } ?> and i dont know how to loop it back to the sql query on top Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/39330-problem-on-my-codes/#findComment-189641 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Balmung-San Posted February 20, 2007 Share Posted February 20, 2007 Ick, short tags. Do not use short tags. The problem is that you're trying to use it before it's defined. The way it's looking, you define it halfway through, but why? Could that easily be handled at the top of the page? Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/39330-problem-on-my-codes/#findComment-189644 Share on other sites More sharing options...
pixeltrace Posted February 20, 2007 Author Share Posted February 20, 2007 hows the solution here? need help thanks! Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/39330-problem-on-my-codes/#findComment-189645 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Balmung-San Posted February 20, 2007 Share Posted February 20, 2007 As I said, why are you doing that halfway through? Couldn't that be handled at the top? Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/39330-problem-on-my-codes/#findComment-189649 Share on other sites More sharing options...
pixeltrace Posted February 20, 2007 Author Share Posted February 20, 2007 sorry,i am lost, can you help me fix it? whats the solution for this? thanks in advance! Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/39330-problem-on-my-codes/#findComment-189655 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Balmung-San Posted February 20, 2007 Share Posted February 20, 2007 I can't help you fix something if you don't know how it works. Why did you put that piece of code there? Is there any reason that it's there, or does it just look prettier there? Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/39330-problem-on-my-codes/#findComment-189656 Share on other sites More sharing options...
pixeltrace Posted February 20, 2007 Author Share Posted February 20, 2007 i placed this on top of the sql query now $sort = 'ORDER by clientid'; and this is the new error message that i am getting from the drop down menu Notice:undefined index type in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\view.php on line 47>name Notice:undefined index type in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\view.php on line 48>client ID Notice:undefined index type in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\view.php on line 49>red date Notice:undefined index type in c:\hosting\webhost4life\member\diorgrace\admean\client\view.php on line 50>joined date what does this mean? this is the codes for that line <select name="sortby" onFocus="selectedIndex = 0" onChange="if( options[selectedIndex].value != '') document.location = options[selectedIndex].value" class="sorteventlist"> <option value="clientmngr.php">--Please Select--</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=1" <?=($_GET['type']==1)?"selected":"" ?>>name</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=2" <?=($_GET['type']==2)?"selected":"" ?>>client ID</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=3" <?=($_GET['type']==3)?"selected":"" ?>>reg date</option> <option value="clientmngr.php?id=2&type=4" <?=($_GET['type']==4)?"selected":"" ?>>joined date</option> </select> Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/39330-problem-on-my-codes/#findComment-189661 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Balmung-San Posted February 20, 2007 Share Posted February 20, 2007 You're using $_GET['type'] without checking if it's set, or empty. The way it's looking, you aren't passing in a $_GET['type']. As well, you should always validate any type of input. Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/39330-problem-on-my-codes/#findComment-189664 Share on other sites More sharing options...
pixeltrace Posted February 20, 2007 Author Share Posted February 20, 2007 how to fix this? because i tested the 2 function on 2 separate page 1 page for pagina and 1 page for the drop down they both work but when i combined them i cant make it work need help please! thanks! Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/39330-problem-on-my-codes/#findComment-189670 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.