[NOVICE] PHP 5.2.1 cannot recognize mysql functions

freakofphp

Hi everyone,

I am new to PHP/mySQL. I was wanting to test out whether PHP, mySQL and Apache HTTP Server work together, so I coded out a very basic "guestbook" application. It consists of the files "sign.php" and "create_entry.php". The former has a simple html form, and the latter processes this form and tries to add the contents of the form to a table "guestbook". The cope snippets for these are given below:

---sign.php---

<h2> Sign the Guestbook! </h2>

<form method=post action="create_entry.php">

<b> Name: </b>

<input type=text size=40 name=name>

<br>

<b> Location :</b>

<input type=text size=40 name=location>

<br>

<b> Email: </b>

<input type=text size=40 name=email>

<br>

<b> Home page URL: </b>

<input type=text size=40 name=url>

<br>

<b> Comments: </b>

<textarea name=comments cols=40 rows=4 wrap=virtual></textarea>

<br>

<input type=submit name=submit value="Sign!">

<input type=reset name=reset value="Start Over">

</form>

---end sign.php---

---create_entry.php---

<?php

mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "admin") or

die ("Could not connect to database");

mysql_select_db("guestbook") or

die ("Could not select the database");

if ($submit == "Sign!")

{

$query = "insert into guestbook(name, location, email,url,comments) values

('$name', '$location', '$email', '$url', '$comments')"

;

mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error());

?>

<h2> Thanks!! </h2>

<h2> <a href="view.php"> View My Guestbook!!! </a> </h2>

<?php

}

else

{

include("sign.php");

}

?>

---end create_entry.php---

When I fill up the form on the "sign.php" page, all I get is a redirection to "create_entry.php", and the page is completely blank. The data is not inserted into the guestbook table either (I checked using the command line client bundled with mySQL).