how does this work?

haku87

Hi, I am a newbie in php. I was attempting to create an dynamic driven website using mySQL. I saw people using things like ....test.php?id=7 & ... May I know how does it work? Let say I want to dynamically loaded the content from the database using a template. Let say when i clicked on About Us. It load the same test.php?site=aboutus? How do I tell the server which content to load.

Second Qns.

Does people store large amount of text in mySQL database or there are other means of doing it. If have, any typical example?

Thanks in Advance

Andy

Ok.. Thanks.

Let say I store it into a database. I want to create an editor which can edit the content which can include space and new paragraph. Can it contain paragraph?

Let say in my database, there is a field called test of boob type.

I create a textbox in php and update it to the field. Would it display correctly in php page?

Thanks for ur help

Yes you can do exactly that with PHP and HTML. That's probably how this forum works here. Basically, you write the script so that if you tell it to execute a certain function, then it will give you a form and you can enter your text and whatever and the submit it. Then, you write another function in the script which will go grab that data you inserted into the database and output it as regular HTML. It basically looks like any other site, it's just getting the info from that database instead of a hardcoded webpage.

It's tough at first, but it's well worth your time. I hate to spam, but if you want an example: http://swainnet.zapto.org/ is my site. That front page is MySQL/PHP/HTML running. I have another page where I can add/edit/remove entries from the database and this page gets the updates automatically.

oh.. Erm.. I think you misunderstand what i meant.

It is something similar to the post reply. How am i going to create things like this?

Have a bold button, change color and those..