require_once problem

hello, i know this is a 'mambo' problem but i have posted there with no reply so thought i might try here since it is php code and i'm new to both. if not appropriate to post here i understand.

this is running apache4.2/php5, 5.1 build 2600/mysql on winxp

the problem occurs in a php file, install2.php, invoked as part of the mambo install. the installation is running the prior php file ok, it is called, 'install1.php', install1 is basically a form collecting info about the current installation. install1.php invokes install2.php on the form submit

in install2.php, after a define the 2nd+3rd lines in the file are:

require_once( 'common.php' );

require_once( '../includes/database.php'

the errors i'm getting are:

Warning: require_once(../includes/database.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in C:\apache2\htdocs\mambo\install2.php on line 15

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '../includes/database.php' (include_path='.;C:\php5\pear') in C:\apache2\htdocs\mambo\install2.php on line 15

the errors appear to be complaining that php can't find database.php, it is present, in the same directory as common.php, that directory is mambo, c:/apache2/htdocs/mambo, the mambo directory is where all the php files are

my php is installed in c:\php (not c:\php5)

i can invoke phpinfo () ok

since i'm new to php, i don't understand why the first require_once statement uses a different 'path' structure than the 2nd require_once statement, when both target files are in the same directory?

so if anybody can suggest reasons or things to try i'd much appreciate. and 2ndly also, why the 2 different path statements for files in the same directory?

thanks, bbxrider

I have mambo (v4.5.5) and database.php is in mambo/includes/ but common.php is mambo/installation/

From what I read from your post you say common.php and database.php are in the same folder, which is the mambo folder.