Validating a link

tcorbeil

Frost, i checked with the server info regarding PHP version installed and didn't see anything along the lines of PEAR..

I do know that CURL is installed... i hope i can avoid a bunch of script but if i need to, i'll look into it.., Thank you.

T.

The code isn't working.. keep getting errors..

Because I'm new to PHP, on a quick observation, I see on '(' at the start of the if but none at the end..  I added one at the end of the expression but still got an error.. then I took both out completly..  still no go..

Any advise?

T

Sorry i forgot the second parameter bracket for the file_get_contents(function)

It should be:

if (!file_get_contents($string)){

echo("Url isn't valid.");

}

When you run this, what error do you receive?

EDIT:

If it's the case that your php version doesn't support file_get_contents, then you could equally try file() which predates it, the only difference being that it doesn't put the entire contents into a string but an array, but that shouldn't matter. I'd suggest after you test that it's working you get rid of the "file not found errors" in the event that an invalid url is entered, just by using an @.

<?php

if (!@file($_REQUEST)){

echo("Invalid URL.");

$error=1;

}

if ($error!=1){

// store data

}

?>

Ok..

When the link is valid, it works...  when the link is invalid, i get :

Warning: file_get_contents() [function.file-get-contents]: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known in /home/tcorbeil/public_html/Global/posting.php on line 12

Warning: file_get_contents(http://www.mlbxxx.com) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: Success in /home/tcorbeil/public_html/Global/posting.php on line 12

Url isn't valid.

Posting.php is the file that holds the script you gave me..

tried it wil mlb.com and then mlbxxx.com..