.vbs vs. .php - PLEASE HELP

JSHINER

I was given the following code as a "sample" to connect for a project. Only problem is its VB and the site is in PHP - does anyone know what this would translate to in PHP?

dim conn, rs, username, password
username = "MyId"
password = "MyPass"
set conn = createobject("ADODB.Connection")
conn.open "Provider=SQLOLEDB; Data Source=sub.site.com,7978; Initial Catalog=vow;User ID=" & username & "; Password=" & password

sql = "select * from View_Towns with (nolock) where Number = 1"
set rs=conn.execute(sql)

do until rs.EOF
	msgbox("Successfully Connected")
rs.movenext
loop

set rs = nothing

conn.close
set conn = nothing

Any help would be much appreciated. I'm pretty new to PHP and getting the hang of it - but VB is a foreign language to me. Thanks in advance for any help!

I don't understand VB either however the converted code will be like this:

<?php

// Database credentials
$user = 'MyId';
$pass = 'MyPass';

$conn = mysql_connect('localhost', $user, $pass);
mysql_select_db('database_name_here', $conn); 
/* I couldn't see what database the VB code was using. 
If you know it replace 'database_name_here' with the actual database name */

$sql = 'SELECT * FROM View_Towns WHERE Number = 1';

$result = mysql_query($sql, $conn);

if(mysql_num_rows($result) > 0)
{
    echo 'Results found!';
}
else
{
    echo 'No results found!';
}

mysql_close($conn);

?>

When I do sub.mysite.com:3306 it gives me: "Warning: mysql_connect(): Lost connection to MySQL server during query in..."

When I do sub.mysite.com3306 ( No : ) it gives me: "Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user 'username'@'IP' (using password: YES) in..."

Neither is a desirable result - however the "Access denied" leads me to belive it did in fact connect, but I do not have access. Is this correct?

the mysql_connect function is for connecting to a mysql database

Does your site use a mysql database?