Update 2nd selection box based on 1st WITHOUT reloading page

Moz

Hello,

I'm new to PHP and MySQL and would like some help with a small page I'm trying to write which acts as a search page for a user on my site. Ive been working on this for 4 days now and it's driving me insane - mostly because I don't really know what Im doing and I've cobbled the code together from bits of other code, some shoestrings and a cardboard box. I've spent hours going through many different forums and have tried lots of different ways of achieving this, but for some reason I just can't do it  >:(

The page need to load a list of "categories" and a list of "sectors" from my database and provide three drop down boxes for the user to select.

The first drop down box allows the user to select the category, the second allows the user to select a parent ID in the sectors list and I want the third one to allow the user to select a list of sectors whose parent ID matches their selection in the second sector box.

e.g. I would have a sector called Backpacker, ID 80 which has a parent sector called Travel, ID 40 (Travel has parent ID 0).

I would want to display in the second selection box all those sectors that have Parent ID = 0, and in the third selection box I would to display all sectors that have parent ID based on the second selection box.

The user should then press search and this generates a URL to send the user to. I've already written the code to accept the URL and it seems to be working fine, I just need to finish the actual page where the user selects their parameters.

I understand I would be best to update the third box is by using some sort of onchange javascript, but I just want to update that third box, and not refresh the whole page.