Dates?

papaface

Hello,

I'm not very good with working with dates so I need help asap.

I have a form input text box that the user puts a date in. In this format 10/04/2007.

How can I put that into a database, and then retrieve the results and sort them by date?

regards

<?php

$date = strtotime($_POST['date']);
echo $date;

$convert = date('d-m-Y',$date);

echo "<br><br>". $convert;

?><form action="test.php" method="post"><input name="date" type="text" id="date" /></form>

when i use that, and put in the date 05/04/2007 (april the 5th) it changes it so it comes out 04-05-2007 (4th of april)

I have a site that uses dates - and to insert I use:

$date = $db->escape($_POST['date']);

$db->query("INSERT INTO table SET date = '$date'");

The to display the date on a page:

echo date("l - F j, Y",strtotime($date));

Which displays dates as Tuesday - April 10, 2007

Hope that helps.

I use this code to put it into the db:

$convert = date('Y-m-d',$date);

$_insert = mysql_query("insert into `requests` (name,address,postcode,telephone,email,inspectaddress,stage,area,date,status) values ('".$_POST['name']."','".$_POST['custaddress']."','".$_POST['postcode']."','".$_POST['telephone']."','".$_POST['email']."','".$_POST['inspectaddress']."','".$_POST['stage']."','".$_POST['area']."','{$convert}','unassigned')");

It goes in like this:

2007-05-04

I then try retrieve the date and it comes out like this 2007-05-04.

How can I change it, so it goes day (05) month (04) and then year?

I tried:

while	(list($request_id,$name,$address,$postcode,$telephone,$email,$inspectaddress,$stage,$area,$date) = mysql_fetch_array($_getunassigned))

{

$date = gmdate('d-m-Y',$date);

But it doesnt work

Should be stored as Y-m-d . So 2007-04-09. When it's being entered into the form, are you entering as 09-04-2007 - then converting to 2007-04-09. If it's just  you using the form, you could skip the conversion and enter it as 2007-04-09.