PHP security question

anita999

I am new to PHP and have been using it primarily with mysql.  I have a login form and I use sessions for each PHP page in the web site.  A couple questions:

1.  Some of my PHP pages have inputs like 'user_id' i.e. doSomAction.php?user_id=john.  Now if someone from the outside wants to access this page, they could type in the URL directly and try to add in the user_id=john in the URL or other ids.  So, if this page has features like updating the DB etc., a hacker could then populate the DB.  I want to prevent this.  I thought about checking the $_SESSION variables to check if a user is logged in to prevent outside hackers.  However, if a hacker is registered in the system, he could login and then try to access the PHP directly with the URL with user_id='john'.  What are some other options?

Thanks

Anita

Use post data, that will hide the user_id from the url.

Also I would make sure to use a password, not just a userid. Once the user is logged in store his ID in the session variable or a cookie to pass it along from page to page for verification. I would also store his password (md5 hashed of course) in there too for double verification.

Also, i always put this at the top of any pages that need the user to be logged in.

This code prevents the page being accessed directly.

<?php
header("Cache-control: private");
if (!$_SESSION['username']) {
    echo "You're not logged in!";
    include("index.php");
    exit();
}

i agree with the don't use GET use POST but its still pretty easy to alter a POST as well as a GET,

of course the first attack is the login screen, as soon a member see's a user_id or something like that they will try to exploit it, if you do use the user_id in a get or post then you must verify it after, (personally i would use a session)