[SOLVED] Is using JOIN to access multiple tables a Hard Must?

chadrt

VERY NOOBIE HERE!!!

I am very new to PHP and MySQL I just started working with it for the first time last week.  I successfully have created a database structure and modified some scripts to load the information into the database on a daily basis and now I have been playing around a bit designing a database access page.  It has been a rough road but so far so good I have it working as expected.  My question is this I am accessing data that spans across multiple tables and I am using this as my method of accessing those tables.

mysql_connect($dbhost,$username,$password);
@mysql_select_db($database) or die( "Unable to select database");

$queryam="SELECT * FROM AM WHERE callsign='$callsignsearch'";
$resultam=mysql_query($queryam);

$queryen="SELECT * FROM EN WHERE callsign='$callsignsearch'";
$resulten=mysql_query($queryen);

$queryhd="SELECT * FROM HD WHERE callsign='$callsignsearch'";
$resulthd=mysql_query($queryhd);

$num=mysql_numrows($resultam);

mysql_close();

Now while browsing the forums here I see something talked about called JOIN and I have downloaded some tutorials, read some turtorials on this subject and I must say it has me confused in a big way.  Every time I try and create an sql statement to retrieve the information using a JOIN method I get errors of one type or another.  I have tried examples from multiple sites and different JOIN methods but still come up with the same.

Now those three tables are the only tables in the database.  But the there are almost a million records I think it was 987,000 last I checked and growing every day.  I dont know enough about this stuff to really be able to know wether I can do this better or not.  If anyone has any suggestions please let me know.  I am eager to hear the feedback!!