comparing arrays

highrise

Hi Guys

I'm quite new to PHP and I have a question. I have a MySQL database which has a load of musicians on it. Each musician has a field that stores their influences, which are separated by commas, e.g: The Beatles, The Beach Boys, Kiss etc etc.

Now, what I would like to do is start with the influences of one musician, and then compare it to all the others to find the closest matches - i.e find the musicians that have (say) more than three influences i common. This would then allow you to see which musicians had the most influences in common with the primary one, the one you started with.

Here's what I have in mind, it seems a little laborious - load the influences of the primary musician into an array using the explode command. Then step through each of the other musicians in a loop, each time putting their influences in to an array and checking to see how many matches there are between the two arrays. Whenever there is at least one match, the name of the musician and the number of matches would be put into a third array. This array would then be sorted at the end, so that the musicians with the most matches would be at the top, and the script could then display them.

This would probably work, but if looking at several hundred or several thousand musicians, it would surely be quite slow - is there a better way? I don't particularly want to use a separate, normalised table at this point - I know it would be the quickest way but it would involve a lot of restructuring for me. I know that PHP has several clever inbuilt routines that might do this job for me, so if anyone can suggest anything I'd appreciate it.

Thanks in advance for the help!