[SOLVED] php help!! newbie here...urgent!

s6arface

hey guys,

im trying to get a php script running so i can make updating my template easier. i have used the script below on other servers and i havnt had any problems until now on this server. this is urgent, and i would apprecaite it if you guys can help me out

the website is...

http://daralnoor.org/saad/main.php?id=news

i get the error...

Warning: include(.shtml) [function.include.html]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in D:\Websites\bhwww\daralnoor\daralnoor.org\www\saad\main.php on line 165

Warning: include() [function.include.html]: Failed opening '.shtml' for inclusion (include_path='.;c:\php\includes') in D:\Websites\bhwww\daralnoor\daralnoor.org\www\saad\main.php on line 165

i am using the code:

<?php include ("$id.shtml"); ?>

thanks in advance!!! i tried searching via google, but i am a complete n00b with php!

"Make sure $id is pointing to the correct path of the file you are trying to include"

how would i do this? (probably a newbie comment, but yes i am)

and i use this script so i can have a template and have rest of my pages go on the template and makes updating pages a hella lot easier

i think we all need to go back to the basics here.

If you get the id from the database/whatever and use it in a link you need to use $_GET['id'] to retreve the id  from the link ok.

Now if you using the id on a page that is set to varable id then you can use normall $id.

If you using a include on other pages then your include will need the $id=$_GET['id'] for that include to work.

i think we all need to go back to the basics here.

If you get the id from the database/whatever and use it in a link you need to use $_GET['id'] to retreve the id  from the link ok.

Now if you using the id on a page that is set to varable id then you can use normall $id.

If you using a include on other pages then your include will need the $id=$_GET['id'] for that include to work.