Is there a way...

confusio

Hi,

I have a small html site where I write reviews of books I've read and I am try to find a way to keep a track of the number of reviews by genre (horror,crime).

Is there a way that i can insert a php script into each html table (each review is in a table box) so I can later display at the top of the genre page "There is ... reviews in this section." ?

And if thats possible, would it be possible to display the total amount of reviews in the whole site like "We have read a total of ... books." ? Sorry I'm a total php newbie, only good with html.

Thanks for your help,

Mark

Yes, but you are going to have to set up a database to store all the information in.

You can set up a table like this:

TABLE 'books'

---------------

bookID

title

author

genre

review

Obviously you can add whatever you want to that list. Is this a place where only you are making one review per book? Or can their be multiple reviews on a book?

If there can be multiple reviews, you will have to setup a table for that, and remove the "review" field on the previous table.

TABLE 'reviews'

-------------------

reviewID

bookID

review

reviewer <----person who made the review

Once you have all that information stored, it will be simple to display any data you would like.

Hi,

I have a small html site where I write reviews of books I've read and I am try to find a way to keep a track of the number of reviews by genre (horror,crime).

Is there a way that i can insert a php script into each html table (each review is in a table box) so I can later display at the top of the genre page "There is ... reviews in this section." ?

And if thats possible, would it be possible to display the total amount of reviews in the whole site like "We have read a total of ... books." ? Sorry I'm a total php newbie, only good with html.

Thanks for your help,

Mark

Yes, but you are going to have to set up a database to store all the information in.