[SOLVED] Cookies

Doctor_Strop

Hi all,

I'm a noob with PHP, but I've done a fair amount of reading. I am trying to set and get cookies on my site so I can alter the language, and the user will still have the language set when they surf back in. I can manage to set the cookie in a file as follows...

<?php

$language = $_GET['language'];

$refPage = "http://bfhq.co.uk/";

$name ="BFHQlanguageselect";

$expiry = 60 * 60 * 24 * 180 + time();

$path = "../languages/".$language;

$domain = "bfhq.co.uk";

if (is_dir($path)) {

if (opendir($path)) {

setcookie($name,$language,$expiry);

if (isset($_COOKIE[$name])) {

header('Location: '. $refPage);

}

}

}

?>

but when I try and call it again nothing happens and no cookies are found. See my code below for calling the cookie...

<?php

$name ="BFHQlanguageselect";

//check cookie even exists

print_r($_COOKIE);

$language = $_COOKIE[$name];

} else {

$language = "english";

}

?>

This is doing my head in as from what I have read this should work. My server is set up to read PHP 4 and 5.

Regards

Andy >:( >:(>:(

If this is in the same script, you won't be able to read the cookie until the next time the page is reloaded.  So if you try to set a cookie and then read it again, you won't get a result.  If that is indeed your problem, let me know.  I have a workaround for it.

Try this:

<?php

if (isset($_COOKIE['BFHQlanguageselect'])) {
   $language = $_COOKIE['BFHQlanguageselect'];
} else {
   $language = "english";
}

I did that just in case your $name variable was out of scope.

I tried that and unfortunately it still does not show any cookie. It's almost as if the cookie is getting deleted as soon as the script opens the home page.

If this is in the same script, you won't be able to read the cookie until the next time the page is reloaded.  So if you try to set a cookie and then read it again, you won't get a result.  If that is indeed your problem, let me know.  I have a workaround for it.