bbcode code

kimla

Hi again.

static function code($string)
{
    return preg_replace("/\[code\](.*?)\[\/code\]/", "<div id='code'>$1</div>", $string);
}

When i type:

[code]
<br />
<?php
echo 'Hello world';
?>
<br />

[/code]

It doesnt recognize the code-brackets, why not?

Edit: I'm pretty new with this regular expression thing yet..

<?php
  function code($string) {
    return preg_replace("/\[bbcode\](.*?)\[\/bbcode\]/", "<code>$1</code>", $string);
  }
  echo code('[bbcode]<span style="color: #ff0000">testing</span>[/bbcode]');
?>

Try that. If you end up with HTML being shown and not "testing" in red text then it works.

<?php
  function code($string) {
    return preg_replace("/\[code\](.*?)\[\/code\]/", "<code>$1</code>", $string);
  }
  echo code('[code]<span style="color: #ff0000">testing</span>

');

?>[/code]

Try that. If you end up with HTML being shown and not "testing" in red text then it works.

It's "Testing" in red.

You'll also notice that without using htmlentities() when you echo the converted contents of your string to the browser the code will activate. Instead of using DIV try using <code> and </code> instead.

Can't I just do something like:

{
$code = "/\[code\](.*?)\[\/code\]/is";
$into = "<div id='code'>htmlentities($1)</div>";
$string = preg_replace($code,$into,$string);
return $string;
//return preg_replace("/\[code\](.*?)\[\/code\]/", "<div id='code'>$1</div>", $string);
}

That's your choice kilma. Your code, our opinions, you decide.

Hehe, well, that's good :)

But I really don't see the downside with my way. But I get the feel that you guys have been in the game longer than me ;) So all opinions noted. :)

<?php
  function code($string) {
    return preg_replace('/\[bbcode\](.*?)\[\/bbcode\]/is', '<code>$1</code>', $string);
  }
  echo code('[bbcode]<span style="color: #ff0000">testing</span>[/bbcode]');
?>

I've changed the bbcode so it doesn't interfere with the forum.

Have a go with that and see how it goes.