Trouble using upload script

thedualmind

I went through a couple of tutorials before bothering anyone, however I still cannot seem to get past an error from the upload_file_with_validation function. I am new to PHP and I am very eager to learn, however I keep running into walls. I used the Writing A file Upload Class tutorial by BinaryStar which helped me to understand the scripting process much better. My goal right now is just to learn how to get a script to work and there is obviously something I am missing here. I would definitely appreciate anyones help. Here is the script I used. The error message will be posted below it:

<?php

function upload_file_with_validation() {

//SECTION #1

$temp_file_name = trim($this->temp_file_name);

$file_name = trim(strtolower($this->file_name));

$upload_dir = $this->get_upload_directory();

$upload_log_dir = $this->get_upload_log_directory();

$file_size = $this->get_file_size();

$ip = trim($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']);

$cpu = gethostbyaddr($ip);

$m = date("m");

$d = date("d");

$y = date("Y");

$date = date("m/d/Y");

$time = date("h:i:s A");

$existing_file = $this->existing_file();    //<-Add On

$valid_user = $this->validate_user();        //<-Add On

$valid_size = $this->validate_size();        //<-Add On

$valid_ext = $this->validate_extension();    //<-Add On

//SECTION #2

if (($upload_dir == "ERROR") OR ($upload_log_dir == "ERROR")) {

return false;

}

elseif ((((!$valid_user) OR (!$valid_size) OR (!$valid_ext) OR ($existing_file)))) {

return false;

} else {

if (is_uploaded_file($temp_file_name)) {

if (move_uploaded_file($temp_file_name,$upload_dir . $file_name)) {

$log = $upload_log_dir.$y."_".$m."_".$d.".txt";

$fp = fopen($log,"a+");

fwrite($fp,"

$ip-$cpu | $file_name | $file_size | $date | $time");

fclose($fp);

return true;

} else {

return false;

}

} else {

return false;

}

}

}

?>

Error Message Appears to be a directory upload problem: