Image Upload

coolphpdude

Hi people,

Im new to PHP and new on here so hope you's can bare with me. Im doing a uni project where i have users register an account. Upon registration they can upload pictures and assignments (word files). The way i was thinking about doing it was uploading the pic and storing the URL within a relevant field in a database that corresponds to that user thus creating a link to the picture but meaning i can display the picture online from that URL. The problem i have is if 2 different users upload 2 different pictures but both pictures have the same filename. How do I make it so that there is no clash or that 1 pic doesnt get overwritten???

Very stuck and confused so any help will be appreciated.

Cheers

Yeah i considered that. Well not so much the function (i know very little about functions within PHP to be honest), i considered writing an IF statement to do it for me but thats not what i need.

Because i cud have 1000 users all trying to upload 1 picture (just for example everybody's pic was titled pic1.jpg) i need to make it as automated as possible for the user. i dont want the user to have to rename his/her file (simply for the fact that a user might sit there for 10hours trying different names for their file before they find 1 that isnt already in use... if that makes sense).

for that you can probably try looping the file_exists, so that when you finally get a unique random filename, you exit the loop and save the file

something like

while (file_exists($filename)) {
  //$filename = generate random file name....
}
//save the file now, since there is not duplicate filename anymore

table : data

Id            TEXT          IMAGE

1            t1              img_1.jpg

2            t2              img_2.gif 

3            t3              img_3.jpg

4            t4              img_4.bmp

For record 1 you may keep image name like this image_1.jpg