psd99 Posted July 26, 2007 Share Posted July 26, 2007 Hello everyone, I am currently building a carrental system using php, mysql and apache. I have sucessfully installed XAMPP and created all my tables. The following code is in my conff.php file (Config) this should connect me to my database: <?php // Session Start session_start(); // Connect to database carrentals $connect=$_REQUEST["connect"]; $connect=mysql_connect('localhost','root','diamond'); // Database Selection $database = "carrentals"; // Error message if connection to database fails if (!$connect) die ("Error: Couldn't Connect to the database server. For more information and help, consult your IT support."); // Error message if mysql_select_db($database,$connect) or die ("Error: Unable to open database."); // Username setting $username=$_SESSION["valid_user"]; ?> On my main page I have to type in my username and password. I typed in root and then diamond. At first I was getting an error that was telling me something was wrong with my file called checklogin.php I now get the error Object not found! The requested URL was not found on this server. The link on the referring page seems to be wrong or outdated. Please inform the author of that page about the error. If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster. Error 404 on the page: http://localhost/login.php the main index has this code on it: </style> </head> <form name="login" method="post" action="checklogin.php"> <body> <table width="1119" height="435" border="0" align="center"> and the php login file is this: but its called checklogin.php <?php ob_start(); include("conn.php"); session_start(); if ($_SESSION['accesslevel'] == "Admin") { header("Location: adminhome.php"); exit; } if ($_SESSION['accesslevel'] == "User") { header("Location: main.php"); exit; } ///$_SESSION['message'] =""; $username=$_POST['username']; $password=$_POST['password']; $query = "SELECT * FROM staff WHERE staff_username='$username' and staff_password='$password' and staff_level= '0'"; $result= mysql_query($query); $count= mysql_num_rows($result); if($count==0){ $query2 = "SELECT * FROM staff WHERE staff_username='$username' and staff_password='$password' and staff_level= '1'"; $result2= mysql_query($query2); $count2= mysql_num_rows($result2); if($count2==0){ header("location: login.php"); $_SESSION['message']="Wrong Username/Password"; exit; }; }; if($count2==1){ $_SESSION['accesslevel'] = 'Admin'; while ($res2= mysql_fetch_array($result)){ $_SESSION['username'] = $res['staff_username']; } } if($count==1){ $_SESSION['accesslevel'] = 'User'; while ($res2= mysql_fetch_array($result)){ $_SESSION['username'] = $res2['staff_username']; $_SESSION['firstname'] = $res2['staff_fname']; $_SESSION['lastname'] = $res2['staff_sname']; } } if ($_SESSION['accesslevel'] == "Admin") { header("Location: adminhome.php"); exit; } if ($_SESSION['accesslevel'] == "User") { header("Location: main.php"); exit; } ?> I am killing myself here over this, I am adamant that I am making a silly error but not so sure what I am doing wrong. Can you please suggest what I should do next, apart from hang myself! Thanks psd99 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barand Posted July 26, 2007 Share Posted July 26, 2007 Should included filename be "conn.php" or "conff.php"? If the included file contains session_start() why call it again? Put error checks after queries ... or die (mysql_error()) Use code tags when posting code Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
psd99 Posted July 26, 2007 Author Share Posted July 26, 2007 Should included filename be "conn.php" or "conff.php"? If the included file contains session_start() why call it again? Put error checks after queries ... or die (mysql_error()) Use code tags when posting code Thanks for replying. Hi sorry my bad the file is actually called config.php also not so sure about how to tag my code on here, I will look into this. the problem right now is that when I type in my username and password it is done on a page called index.php This page has a submit button that should check a file called checklogin.php but instead it goes to login.php and this does not exist, which causes an error. I have tried to change the name in the index.php file to login.php but then on the webbrowser it goes to checklogin.php does that make sense? It is very confusing I had my friend over just spent 4 hours trying to sort this out with no luck. you mentioned that I should put error checks after queries is this purely for educational purposes? thanks for your time psd99 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barand Posted July 26, 2007 Share Posted July 26, 2007 if "login.php" does not exist, why do you have this $query2 = "SELECT * FROM staff WHERE staff_username='$username' and staff_password='$password' and staff_level= '1'"; $result2= mysql_query($query2); $count2= mysql_num_rows($result2); if($count2==0){ header("location: login.php"); $_SESSION['message']="Wrong Username/Password"; exit; }; }; Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.