[SOLVED] change a variable to change appearance?

lupld

I'm a complete javascript noob.. so to speak.. I only understand anything in javascript from what I know in php.. with that said, I'd like to make a variable that changes when a radio input button is selected... so I have this

<style>td {color:(variable I want to change);}</style>

<span style="background-color:#0000FF; width:10px;"><br /><input type="radio" name="color" value="#0000FF" /></span

what do I need to put in to change that.. or is it even possible... I know you can change stuff like the bgcolor for a page, but I was wondering if you could do a variable and make it change the page... I need it to be able to change at least the background color of the page, the text color (in a div tag with css for text color), and link color, also in a div tag changed by css... any ideas appreciated, thanks...

<form name="test" action="">
<select onchange="document.body.style.backgroundColor=this.options[this.selectedIndex].text;">
<option>white</option>
<option>red</option>
<option>yellow</option>
<option>#ddd</option>
<option>#f0f0f0</option>
</select>
</form>

the code below is tested and works, paste it into any web page(even a page that already has content) to change the background color of that web page using a select box:

<form name="changebackground" action="">
Page backgroundColor:
<select
    onchange="document.body.style.backgroundColor=this.options[this.selectedIndex].text;">
<option>white</option>
<option>red</option>
<option>yellow</option>
<option>green</option>
<option>#ddd</option>
<option>#f0f0f0</option>
</select>
</form>

-just add as many new options as you want and specify a color name or a #rgb hex color code as the option text

-in order to change the background color of just a single element within a page, just change the 'onchange' within the 'select' in the code above like this:

<select