PHP Mysql on HPUX - Please help

manyvan2000

I am a newbie to PHP and Mysql. I was trying to set up mantis on hpux and it complained "bad support for database". I started investigating and this is what I found.

system : HP-UX t01alc2t B.11.11 U 9000/800

Apache : Apache/2.0.54 HP-UX_Apache-based_Web_Server (Unix) DAV/2 PHP/5.0.4

PHP : 5.0.4

mysql :  14.12 Distrib 5.0.45, for hp-hpux11.11 (hppa2.0w)

I created a test php file with

<?

echo "mysql:" . extension_loaded('mysql') . "<br>";

?>

And the result was

mysql:

It was obvious that the extension was not loaded. so I did some googling and did this:

I changed the php.ini to enable the extension for mysql, but I am not sure if what I have is correct. I tried the following combinations

1. extension_dir = "/opt/iexpress/mysql/lib/mysql"

extension=libmysqlclient.sl

2. extension_dir = "/opt/iexpress/mysql/dbdmysql/blib/arch/auto/DBD/mysql"

extension=mysql.sl

I also tried different ways like using lmysql, lmysqlclient, libmysqlclient.sl, mysql.sl and even copied these files to a different directory and pointing to that. I even tried using the actual libraries like lib.sl.0 something and nothing seems to be working.

Everytime I start Apache, I get the following warning:

"Unable to load dynamic library '/path/to/folder/libname.sl' - Invalid flags for dlopen: /path/to/folder/libname.sl in Unknown on line 0

I checked the apache documentation that came with the server and it says this version was compiled with mysql support. I checked the extension dir, but couldnt find the file mysql.sl. But it is there in mysql folders. I tried to load the extensions found in the extension dir, but all of them gives me the same error.

I did some googling on this and looks like dlopen is not supported by hpux or something like that. Also, there seems to be a lot of help on php-mysql issues for windows / linux, but not for HPUX.