Retrieving cookies with php same as in java

chrishawkins

Is it possible to pull the cookies of a viewers browser when you are using a php script to track them on your site and return the info to a stats page, just as it would be done using javascript?

If it sounds like I don't know what I am talking about, it's because I don't. I am a novice at best. I am running a stats script on my server and using it to track the stats of individuals that view my site page that I have the code snippet on that returns the info back to my stats page. I have done this my embedding the url to the .swf file that pulls that stats in my sites page. Well, it's not an actual .swf file. I have the .htaccess file set like this

RewriteEngine on
RewriteRule image.swf image.php

and inside the image.php file is this

<?PHP
$lvc_include_dir = 'include/';

include($lvc_include_dir.'new-visitor.inc.php3');
?>

I am wondering if it is possible to retrieve the cookies as well using php scripting... Either the cookies of my site or of another site that are saved to the viewers computer...

Please let me know if this is at all possible..

~Chris

The nature of cookies is that you can only view and access the ones that were created from your site.  To create cookies from PHP, you will need the setcookie or header function, and to access them, you can use the $_COOKIE global variable

The nature of cookies is that you can only view and access the ones that were created from your site.  To create cookies from PHP, you will need the setcookie or header function, and to access them, you can use the $_COOKIE global variable