To decare or not to declare.....

cpdavngr

I'm relatively new to PHP, but not to programming in general.  Anyway, I had a question about associative arrays.  Take a look at the following example:

Why does the following code:

echo "\n*************declared***************************\n";

$tester=array("bob");

$tester["bob"]=65433;

foreach ($tester as $value) echo "$value\n";

echo "\n";

print_r($tester);

echo "\n**********undeclared****************************\n";

unset($tester);

/*$tester=array("bob");*/

$tester["bob"]=65433;

foreach ($tester as $value) echo "$value\n";

echo "\n";

print_r($tester);

Produce this output:

*************declared***************************

bob

Array

(

[0] => bob

[bob] => 65433

)

**********undeclared****************************

Array

(

[bob] => 65433

)

Shouldn't bob have a numerical index in the array either declared or undeclared?  This is somewhat confusing because I'm trying to use a foreach loop to loop through a predeclared associative array and I'm getting multiple results in my output...

First of all why have you commented out the $tester=array("bob");?

If I uncomment the line above and run the script i get this:

*************declared***************************
bob

Array
(
    [0] => bob
    [bob] => 65433
)

**********undeclared****************************
bob

Array
(
    [0] => bob
    [bob] => 65433
)

And that is how it should be... $tester = array('bob') assigns the comma separated values an numeric index starting at 0... so $tester[0] holds the value 'bob'. That's perfectly as it should be... I don't know why you get that odd sign instead of [0].