Retrieving data from table using sessions

Teng

OK so i'm fairly new to php so bare with me.

I've created a Login page that asks for a username and password. It then searches for the username and password in the table and confirms it. It then matches the username and password with the userid and assigns the userid to $_SESSION['userid'] = $row["Userid"];

Now User id is in both my Authentication table which consists of

Authentication Table:

Userid                [PK]

Username

Password

then there is a User table

Userid                [PK]

Firstname

Lastname

Address

Phone

Nationality

So from Login.php it goes to Userdetails.php using the $_SESSION['userid'] to store the information about that user. How do i now pull information such as firstname lastname etc on this page.

Ive got so far...

<?php

session_start();

//check session variable

if (isset($_SESSION['Userid']))

{

echo '<p>You are logged in as '.$_SESSION['username'].'</p>';

}

else

{

echo '<p>You are not logged in.</p>';

echo '<p>Only logged in members may see this page.</p>';

}

echo '<a href="login.php">Back to main page</a>';

?>

Do i start a <html>...<body>..etc and then pull the details into there in a table like

<table>

<tr><td>Firstname</td><td>***Enter code to pull firstname details here***</td></tr>

Anyhelp or a point in the right direction would be great thanks.

Hi Teng,

First, all code to display the table will have to be in the scope of the validated session check, i.e.

{
   // Insert table code here.
}

so as not to display the info to non-logged in users.

You don't need to explicitly add the <html> or <body> tags as PHP will sort that out for you. If you want to add them, they'd need to be placed before you echo anything to the screen.