Shopping cart help

axiom007

Hello all,

A newbie here.  I am helping some really cheap friends develop an ecommerce site.  I pretty much have everything in order except for one small thing.  When the customer ultimately checks out, I need to add all of the item to the order items table.  This could be one row, it could be twenty rows, ya know, however many different things they have selected.  How can I make it insert each record insert into the order items table on one click.  I apologize for the naivity of the question, but any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

-Richard

You need to use a loop. I'm assuming the items are stored in an array? Then just do something like this:

<?php

$items = array("item1", "item2", "item3");

foreach ($items as $item){
   $query = "INSERT INTO orders (item) VALUES ('$item')";
   $result = mysql_query($query)or die(mysql_error());
}

?>

as of right now, the cart has it's own table that is pulls the correct rows per that session.  I do apologize fro my extreme ignorance, but I am not terribly familiar with using arrays, but am always wanting to learn more.  Would storing the values into an array be a better way to go?  Also, in looking at your example, you show (item1),(item2),(item3).  in defininf the array, do you have to have a set number of items? in the cart there could be one item, or a whole bunch of them, i.e. more than 3. once again, sorry for the ignorance, just trying to learn.

Thanks

-Richard

mysql_select_db($database_ccc, $ccc);

$query_viewcart = sprintf("SELECT shop_tracker.shop_id, shop_tracker.card_qty, shop_tracker.item_total, card_items.card_name, card_items.card_sku, card_items.image, shop_tracker.card_id FROM shop_tracker LEFT JOIN card_items on shop_tracker.card_id = card_items.card_id WHERE session_id = '".$_COOKIE['PHPSESSID']."'")

$viewcart = mysql_query($query_viewcart, $ccc) or die(mysql_error());

$row_viewcart = mysql_fetch_assoc($viewcart);

$totalRows_viewcart = mysql_num_rows($viewcart);