having trouble parsing data from page

tobykw13

Im trying to parse a short amount of text off of  a web page and Im having some difficulties. I am very new to PHP so this all seems kind of foreign to me. Ive read up on screen scraping and parsing and what not and found some script that seemed to fit what I was wanting to do, and have had some success messing with it, but at the same time havent figured out how to do what I want. Looking at the page source for the page there is a string of text as follows:

...= {"UserId":257367900,"DisplayFriendId":13287930,"IsLoggedIn":true};

I want to extract the number 13287930. This line is found in the body of the html. I used the following code to try and parse out this number:

<?php

// the adress of the remote file to read

$url = 'http://www.myspace.com/isabellebanham';

// you have to backslash certain characters !

$start = '<html>';

$end = '<\/html>';

$fp = fopen($url, 'r') or die('Unable to open file '.$url.' for reading');

$cont = '';

while(!feof($fp))

{

$buf = trim(fgets($fp, 4096));

$cont .= $buf;

}

preg_match('/'.$start.'(.*)'.$end.'/s', $cont, $match);

echo '

<p>

here is the output of '.$url.':<br />

<strong>'.$match[1].'</strong>

</p>';

?>