[SOLVED] Why is this mini-session script not working???

carlos1234

Hi all,

I am new to PHP and new to this forum but was wondering if anyone could give me some input on why this script is not working correctly. 

<?php
session_start();
if (isset($_SESSION['record_number'])) {
  $_SESSION['record_number'] = 0;
}
?> 

The error I am getting is this...

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '{' in /home/carlos/web/my-program/test.php on line 3

I have beat my proverbial head against the wall on this one.  I just don't get it. 

Anybody got any suggestions? 

Thanks. 

Carlos

Hi ?,

Thanks again for your input.  Your code snippet worked as expected with no errors.  It output "nothing to set" to the screen. 

As for where my $_SESSION['record_number'] variable comes from...it doesn't come from anywhere.  The code snippet that I originally posted was just a snippet on my way to producing something larger.  I had narrowed it down enough to where it might have hopefully been easier to figure out but the snippet itself doesn't make any sense by itself. 

Do you or anyone else have any ideas as to why the original code snippet that I posted does not work and produces an error?  I am new to PHP and like the simplicity of it but I am also coming to realize that PHP behaves odly sometimes and in a way that makes it rather difficult to work with sometimes since some things that are supposed to work don't quite work the way they are supposed to...in some cases...though most times they work as they are supposed to...which overall makes PHP seem like a quirky, temporamental language.  Just a newbies impression but the code snippet I posted is a case in point.  There is no logical reason why it should produce an error...that I can see...but it does. 

Carlos

<?php
session_start();
if (!isset($_SESSION['record_number'])) { // added !
  $_SESSION['record_number'] = 0;
}
?>