Help With IF statement

Loryman

I'm quite new with PHP, so I'm unsure what do to. But Im guessing what I need is an IF statement, that will display a message saying "The page does not exist" instead of "failed to open stream", for any page that does not exist on the site.

This page

Can anyone help?

Code of index.php is shown below.

<center>
  Displaying page below line:
  <hr>

<?php 
if(isset($_GET['action'])){
include($_GET['action'].".php");
} else {
include("1.php");
}
?>

<hr>
  <a href="index.php?action=1">Display 1.php</a> | 
  <a href="index.php?action=nonexistant">Display Non-Existant Page</a>
</center>

Thanks.

hehehe,

I came up with a variation of the way your doing it and it became cumbersome. Now I would not develop any other way for 95% of my sites.

Ok, most pages have a common area on top, and left with sometimes a right side common as well. But they pretty much all have a single area that the content actually loads in. So here is what I do.

Create your main page layout. I will use the standard common head/left nav/footer layout. I use tables, but it can be applied to a css layout in the exact same method. So here is my code for my main page I will call header.php

/header.php

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title><?=$page_title ?></title>
<style type="text/css">
<!--
body {
margin: 0px;
padding: 0px;
}
-->
</style>
</head>
<body>
<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
  <tr>
    <td colspan="2" align="center"><h1>Banner text </h1></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td width="18%" valign="top">
  <a href="#">Link1</a><br />
      <a href="#">Link2</a><br />
  <a href="#">Link3</a><br />
      <a href="#">Link4</a><br />
      <a href="#">Link5</a><br />
    </td>
    <td width="82%" align="left" valign="top">