Simple (???) Problem

pepperface

Hi, I'm very new to all this so I do apologise if what I'm asking sounds stupid or isn't achievable for any reason.

What I want to be able to create is a series of input text fields that are identified by and range from name_01 to name_50.

Fields are blank until a user inputs his/her name in the field of their choice, (eg. 'Sammy decides to type her name into name_17) and hits the submit button. Once the submit button is hit the data in any/all the fields is sent to a php script which writes to a txt file, adding/listing each name and assigning it an identifier indicating which field it was typed into (eg Sammy=name_17 or similar...?).

The contents of the text file can then be read back and displayed to users; so that they can see which name slots have already been taken.

I don't know if any of this is do-able? I've tried to learn from and modify existing scripts (like guestbook or eCard stuff) to try and fit the bill but most of the existing scripts actually do way more than I need (I don't need validators of anything like that) and I end up getting horribly lost in it all :-\

Extra info: I'm using Flash to do all this but don't worry particularly about that. If anyone can nudge me towards anything that might provide the hints or the info I need I can probably muddle through it enough to be able to apply it to the Flash environment. I just need some pointers, really. I've been at this for 18 hours straight, now and am at my wits end!

Huge thanks in adavance!

Can't see why it wouldn't work :)

You'd simply need to us a ''foreach' fuction and get the name of the field (that's called the 'key') thats currently being read and tell it all to go to a string... then output using a file_function....

perhaps like this

<?php

foreach($_POST as $post)
{
if($post != 'The text on your submit button, case sensitive!')
{

$key = array_keys($_POST, $post);
$key = $key[0];

$result = "$key = $post
";