I need help... I need a script that can read browser cookie.

freeak08

Guys, I need help... I'm basically a beginner, and I would just like to have a script. Is there a script/ or can you create a script that can read cookie on a website's viewers browser (cache)?

My Idea is to run the script once viewers would actually load the index page of a website, then the website would actually load a certain page that would contain any related cookie information taken from the browser (if there is one, if none then the default index page would load.

Please, please, please guys... I really believe the people here are very good in php, and I would really appreciate the help.

Thanks 

<?php
if(isset($_COOKIE['somecookie']) && !empty($_COOKIE['somecookie'])){//a cookie exists and it's not empty
$cookie_value = $_COOKIE['somecookie'];
echo $cookie_value;
echo "<b><center>$cookie_value</center></b>";
} else {
include 'index.php';
}
?>

I believe that's along the lines of what you want?

<?php
if(isset($_COOKIE['somecookie']) && !empty($_COOKIE['somecookie'])){//a cookie exists and it's not empty
echo $cookie_value;
} else {
include 'index.php';
}
?>

I believe that's along the lines of what you want?

I'm really sorry, but I really don't have too much idea about php, just starting to explore it.. could you kindly explain the lines and what it does exactly? Thank you very much!

<?php
echo $cookie_value;
} else {
include 'index.php';
}
?>

Line by line:

If the cookie by the name of 'somecookie' exists, and it's value is not empty, then

We set $cookie_value equal to the value of 'somecookie' and then echo out the value.

Else, if it doesn't exist or it's empty, show the main page and do nothing with the cookie.

<?php
echo $cookie_value;
} else {
include 'index.php';
}
?>

Line by line:

If the cookie by the name of 'somecookie' exists, and it's value is not empty, then

We set $cookie_value equal to the value of 'somecookie' and then echo out the value.