[SOLVED] $this-> ????

kwdrysdale

Hi.  I was truly excited to find this site and look forward to visiting often and learning as much as I can so that I can work more in PHP and then be able to return the favour and help others learn as well.  I am really new to PHP but have some general programming experience from my younger days and in school.  I'm not scared to try things and totally screw up a file (as I have done over and over as I learned how to interact with a database) and learn most things really quickly. 

On with the question...I have tried searching the net, tried searching here, but because most search engines take out the special characters I get a whole lot of articles containing the word "this."  :)  I am working on modifying a login script (btw the phpfreaks login script would be GREAT to check out!) and don't really know what $this-> means.  Here is an example of what I have in some code:

function Session(){
      $this->time = time();
      $this->startSession();
   }

That is one small portion.  There are other spots where it looks like it is defining a variable such as:

if(!$this->logged_in){
         $this->username = $_SESSION['username'] = GUEST_NAME;
         $this->userlevel = GUEST_LEVEL;
         $database->addActiveGuest($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'], $this->time);
      }

I am not asking anyone to tell me exactly what is happening in the script as I have a basic understanding of what most things are doing, just not a detailed understanding of some of the code yet.  "$this->" is something that I see a lot in this script and is something I would like to be able to understand more.  Is there somewhere I can find information on this?  I have tried php.net but searching is impossible as explained above.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

Kevin