PHP CURL Question/Problem

Beat Juggler

Hi!

I'm trying to write a script that should login to the remote server.

I wrote the script that I included below, but when I run it, I receive a page with the login form again, and I expect to see the page that appears right after the login. In other words, the script doesn't work properly, the remote server doesn't let me in.

The remote server is not secure (no https) and I suppose they have no any kind of protection against the automated parsing, I'm not intruding the bank, and I suppose that the error is somewhere in the script, or I need to include some additional params in the CURL request.

I'm new to CURL, so I have 4 questions, and I would really appreciate if someone could provide some help or info.

1) The remote server uses redirect.

When I login normally through the web browser, in my IE address bar I don't get the url of the script that is in the form action tag. In other words, in the post form I have form method="post" action="some_url", and when login is successful, I see http://someserver.com/another_url in the browser.

Question: Is it possible that my CURL script below has no params for processing this redirect properly?

2) The remote server is created in jsp probably (it writes JSESSIONID).

Question: Is it possible that there are some special settings for pages in jsp, or jsp cookies/sessions are not properly passed?

3) Authentication

Question: Maybe I need to set CURLOPT_HTTPAUTH or something? I tried to set curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_HTTPAUTH, CURLAUTH_ANY); but it didn't help.

4) Protection

Question: Is there any way the server could detect that I'm using CURL? Maybe there is some HTTP header string attached or something? May this be because of some specific CURL lib version?

So the script:

<?php

$cookie_file = "/home/www/myhost/cookies.txt";

$page_link = "http://server3.sampleserver.com/go.cmd/login";

$fp = fopen('verbose.txt', 'w+');

fwrite($fp, date('Y-m-d H:i:s')."\n\n");