[SOLVED] where clause to sort on date column

wrave

I am pretty new to PHP and have to say that I have accomplished more in a year than I ever have using any other language. PHP is great and thanks to all who help in the development of this tool.

I have a simple MySQL DB set up to store scheduling information. Here is my query...

SELECT * FROM schedule WHERE appt_date >= $this_day AND id = $this_id ORDER BY appt_date

Dates are in MySQL format (YYYY-MM-DD).

I want all dates that are in the future from $this_day. I get records from the past as well as the future.

I've read docs on DATEs but must be missing something.

Can anyone offer any help?

Thanks...

WRAVE

If i'm not mistaken you've not put in the qualifying inverted commas ('), so i expect your statement is currently coming out something like this :

(example : date is 2004-12-23 and id is 34)

SELECT * FROM schedule WHERE appt_date >= 2004-12-23 AND id = 34 ORDER BY appt_date

Now as far as SQL is concerned what you've provided for it there is 2004 MINUS 12 MINUS 23 which gives it 1969, so really your statement looks like :

SELECT * FROM schedule WHERE appt_date >= 1969 AND id = 34 ORDER BY appt_date

I am however surprised that it's not causing a warning or error.

Nevertheless appt_date is ALWAYS greater than 1969 (because the condition evaluates to true).

Just done a little test myself and MySQL DOES throw a warning when you do this evaluation.

I got "Incorrect datetime value: '1969' for column 'console_Stamp' at row 1".

I suspected it might give me something along those lines.

Anyhow your statement should be either  :

1) SELECT * FROM schedule WHERE appt_date >= CURRENT_TIMESTAMP AND id = $this_id ORDER BY appt_date

2) SELECT * FROM schedule WHERE appt_date >= '$this_day' AND id = $this_id ORDER BY appt_date

Note that $this_day should ideally be a string in the format 'YYYY-MM-DD' as you said in the original post.

e.g. $this_day = '2007-11-14';