Load SQL Variable & Edit Right Away...

noiselab

Hi everyone, just thought I'd register at a PHP forum, I'm a graphic designer that's just now starting to learn a little of PHP and SQL and I've had a few little things I'm not sure of how to fix, so I thought I'd turn here for some help.

I am making a simple test database that's hosted on my hosting account and I've got one php page that pulls out all the values from a DB table and sorts them into input fields that are sorted inside a table. Now the reason I insert those values into a input field is because I want to make another form function where those loaded values can be changed and saved right away. My code for right now is this :

<body>
<p align="center"><span class="style1"><br />
    <span class="style2">SQL Readout Test : </span></span><br />
    <br />
    <br />
</p>
<form action="testphp2.php" method="post" >
  <div align="center">
    <table width="500" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
      <tr><th></th>
      <th>Input Fields : </th>
      <th>Comments and Complaints : </th>
      </tr><tr>
        <td width="111" align="left" valign="top"><strong>Firstname : </strong></td>
        <td width="156" align="left" valign="top"><input name="firstname" type="text" size="30" /></td>
        <td width="329" rowspan="5" align="left" valign="top"><div align="right">
          <textarea name="comment" cols="50" rows="10" id="comment"></textarea>          
          <label>
          <div align="right"><br />
            <input name="submit" type="submit" value="Submit Info" />
          </div>
        </label></td>
      </tr>
      <tr>
        <td align="left" valign="top"><strong>Lastname : </strong></td>
        <td align="left" valign="top"><input name="lastname" type="text" size="30" /></td>
      </tr>
      <tr>
        <td align="left" valign="top"><strong>Age
: </strong></td>
        <td align="left" valign="top"><input name="age" type="text" id="age" size="30" /></td>
      </tr>