[SOLVED] New to PHP and need help with a simple project

chrisgibson

Ok I am completely new to PHP and literally started using it about a week ago.  I have searched and searched on google about this and everything I read goes way over my head.  I am doing a project for a class where we are setting up a LAMP server.  Then we are to make a table in MySQL and use a PHP page to access the table in the database and display information for different group members.  I have made the table and made an index.php page and was able to get a query to the database and print the results when I hardcoded the SQL statement.  However I was wanting to be able to use a drop down list with the names of my group members(hard coded) and be able to place that name in the SQL statement by hitting a submit button.  This is where I am stuck.  I have made a list box by adding the following HTML to the page:

<select name="Members">

<option>Chris Gibson</option>

<option>Nick Carden</option>

<option>Jake Johnson</option>

</select>

Then I make a database connection to MySQL with the following:

<?php

$dbhost = '192.168.1.127'

$dbuser = 'root'

$dbpass = 'password'

$conn = mysql_connect($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass) or die ('Error connecting to MySQL');

$dbname = 'groupmembers';

mysql_select_db($dbname);

$query = mysql_query("SELECT * from members WHERE name=Chris Gibson");<-I would like for "WHERE name=$someVariable" to be dynamic and $someVariable to be obtained from the drop down list

$info = mysql_fetch_array($query);

echo $info['name'] . "<br>":

echo $info['address'] . "<br>":

echo $info['city'] . "<br>":

echo $info['state'] . "<br>":

echo $info['zip'] . "<br>":

echo $info['phone'] . "<br>":

mysql_close($conn)

?>