Email code not working

thefollower

I am wondering what this error means this is my first attempt at email...is there something i have not done in my settings?

Warning: mail() [function.mail]: "sendmail_from" not set in php.ini or custom "From:" header missing in C:\xampp\htdocs\test4.php on line 7

Message delivery failed...

<?php
include("include.php");

$to = "test@gmail.com";
$subject = "Hi!";
$body = "Hi,\n\nHow are you?";
if (mail($to, $subject, $body)) {
  echo("<p>Message successfully sent!</p>");
} else {
  echo("<p>Message delivery failed...</p>");
}
?>

In your code..below there is a small error.

mail() function takes four parameters

1. to

2. subject

3. message

4. headers

for ex:- mail("test@gmail.com", "This is the subject", "Here will be your message", "From: sender@gmail.com");

just execute the above function by giving a working email address in the place of test@gmail.com, it doesnt matter from whom u r getting the mail and what is in the headers section (i.e .. sender@gmail.com) ('From:'  should always be there as the fourth parameter. you can add more information to this parameter.. but for u the above function works fine)

and thats what the error message saying , lacking of the fourth parameter.

-------------------------------------got cleared ?

<?php

include("include.php");

$to = "test@gmail.com";

$subject = "Hi!";

if (mail($to, $subject, $body)) {

} else {

}

?>

I did put a legit email i just changed it to test@gmail.com cos i did not want to put my email out in public..

<?php
include("include.php");

$to = "test@gmail.com";
$subject = "Hi!";
$From = "sender@gmail.com";
if (mail($to, $subject, $body, $From)) {
} else {
}
?>

Is that how it should be?

Stil gives me error even though i put the sender in...

Warning: mail() [function.mail]: "sendmail_from" not set in php.ini or custom "From:" header missing in C:\xampp\htdocs\test4.php on line 8