Random Select function and Mysql - attempt to build a chinese vocabulary trainer

xxtobirichter

Hello, I am a student studying Ethics in IT and at the moment I am working on a project to build a small chinese vocabulary trainer.

The idea: To build a chinese vocabulary trainer. The idea is that one part of the page containing the image of a chinese character. Then on the bottom 4 other imagefiles are displayed. They represent the answers. The student puts in the answer into a "submit" box. And the scribt evaluates if correct or not.

Hey

My idea was to select the files via a random function with php. So far so good. Now the problematic part. One of the four answers has to contain the right one/has to be equal to the one presented. Now the question has anyone an idea to arrange a scribt to do that? The right answer must also be at different positions. So that when the net question is asked the right answer is not in the same position. (e.g box A,B,C,D). Then a scribt should evaluate the names of the documents and if equal echo one html file if wrong echo another.

Can anyone help me with this?

Another problem that came up was the storage and managing of files. I wondered if it is possible to create a mysql database with 3 columns to organize the files. Column A contains the filename, column B contains the path of the image file with the character and column C contains the path to an audio file, column D contains the path to a html page explaining why the choice was wrong. First of all is that possible or do the 4 items have to be stored in seperated databases? I am new to the whole mysql database and just getting started with the server, therefore i am really happy and appreciating any comments.

Thank you very much

Tobi

Hello Tobi! I'm going to tackle one problem at a time, beginning with selecting and randomizing the selected answers.