Problems with preg_replace error in my code - since php 5.2.5 upgrade

and1c

ok guys,

Im still learning PHP and this has thrown me!

Since I upgraded my server (centos) to latest apache, mysql and php (5.2.5) I am getting this error when I try and submit some information through a form in my sites admin panel

PHP Warning:  preg_replace() [<a href='function.preg-replace'>function.preg-replace</a>]: Unknown modifier 'a' in /var/www/html/mysite/functions/main.php on line 224, referer: http://www.mysite.com/SessID

I have been playing around adding "/" at the beginning and end of the pattern but I cannot seem to fix it!!

function bx_unhtml_tags($str){

if(ALLOW_HTML_TAGS == "yes") {

$patterns = array();

$replacement = array();

$taglist = split(",",trim(HTML_TAG_LIST));

for ($i=0;$i<sizeof($taglist);$i++) {

if(trim($taglist[$i])!='') {

$patterns[] = "/".htmlspecialchars(eregi_replace(">","(.*?)>",strtolower(trim($taglist[$i]))))."/mi";  //suspect code I changed **original code is here**//

$patterns[] = "/".htmlspecialchars(eregi_replace("<","<\/",eregi_replace(">","[\s]?>

",trim($taglist[$i]))))."/mi"; $replacement[] = strtoupper(str_replace(">","\\1>",trim($taglist[$i])));

$replacement[] = eregi_replace("<","</",strtoupper(trim($taglist[$i]))); } } $str

= preg_replace($patterns, $replacement, $str); } if(ERASE_HTML_TAGS == "yes")

{ $patterns = array(); $replacement = array(); $taglist = split(",",trim(ERASE_TAG_LIST)); //Error Line//

for ($i=0;$i<sizeof($taglist);$i++) {

if(trim($taglist[$i])!='') {

$patterns[] = "/".htmlspecialchars(eregi_replace(">","(.*?)>",strtolower(trim($taglist[$i]))))."/mi";

$patterns[] = "/".htmlspecialchars(eregi_replace("<","<\/",eregi_replace(">","[\s]

<?php",trim($taglist[$i]))))."/mi";

$replacement[] = "";

$replacement[] = "";

}

}

Basically it is for a form in my admin panel whereby I can alter or add an advert to my site.