Lost in the sea of information

nanook

Hi All,

I wanted to introduce myself as a new member of this forum.

I'm a pc tech working for a consulting company with hopes to go into business for myself within the next year or so.

My expertise is in pc and networking hardware and making them play nice together.

I'm not a programmer of any kind. I do know a little VB and VBscript. I've also done some basic work with MS Access.

My knowledge of relational databases is basic. I believe i have a reasonable understanding of the concepts but that's as far as it goes.

I'm trying to design a database to track my customer, invoices, schedule and probably several things I haven't thought of yet.

I find myself lost in the sea of information available on the subject and don't know where or how to start.

Googling led me here and I'm hoping this will be my compass to find my way to my destination.

At this point, I'm not at all concerned with the syntax of PHP or MySQL. A command reference will supply that.

I don't really know where to start. The only questions I have right now is; How do I design an efficient expandable database?

How do I break down this project into small, manageable chunks?

Any advice will be appreciated.

Well databases are a very powerful thing for storing and managing your data. In addition though, you want to eliminate any redundant data. You want a customer address for example to exist as a single record so that if you need to update it, it gets updated in a single location. Redundancy in data is one of the biggest things I see with people new to databases.

That being said I would say the first step is to come up with a list of all the information you want to store on your customers. It doesn't have to be in any particular order. Try to use some forethought as to things you may not necessarily need now, but perhaps in the future.