Retrieving an amount of rows depending on an entry?

kenuk110

Hi,

I'm pretty new to this but here goes. Thank you in advance for any replies.

I have 'blocks' that are labeled 0001, 0002, 0003, 0004,0005 for instance and within these blocks I have 'numbers', these go from 01-99, so 01,02,03,04...

Each block has a different amount of numbers within them. Say 0001 only has 4 numbers within it but 0002 has 38. I have to produce a query that allows me to say 'bring me back 400 distinct 'numbers' total' from blocks. These need to be distinct as in the block reference can only be used once. I use this information to issue instructions to our guys. They should have 400 'numbers' total to process each day but at the moment I have 7 queries bringing back static block references which total 400 numbers and this is about to increase as we employ more people.

This whole message may not make sense, if so, please get in touch anyway just to say it's rubbish! I'll try to write it in a better way.

Thanks again in advance for any assistance.

Regards

Ken

Hi,

Thanks for replying.

I work for a merchandising company, we basically put products on to shelves in supermarkets. Each section in a supermarket is called a 'Block', when you go down the cereal aisle you see Kellogg's for instance, this will pretty much be in it's own block in the supermarket. Each block can have multiple items on it, say Crunchy Nut Cornflakes, Regular Cornflakes, Special K etc. Each different product has a number assigned to it. By the way, 'we' have named/labelled the store like this, so we have BLOCK then INUMBER.