Cross-server communication with PHP

zachwlewis

I'm developing a web-comic tool that allows users to run a small script on their servers that pings my website with information regarding comic updates and news.

Whenever they update, I want their server to send a message to my server so I can store the comic's name, number and image URL.

What is the best way to do this? I'm concerned about security, so I don't want to accept any blind GETs or anything like that. Can I do this in PHP, or will I need to look into employing some sort of JavaScript trickery to get everything flowing smoothly? Finally, how should I start this script so I can test my way through things (I've never done something like this before)?

Do you want this script to run on the server side or the browser side? I'm assuming that you want the server side, because you said that you want it to run when the user updates their site, not when someone views the site. The simplest way would be to insert in their update script an HTTP GET request to your script.

The GET method really isn't any less secure than POST and it's simpler to implement. You always need to validate everything that comes from an outside source--whether it's from GET data or POST data. You'll need to require some sort of valid credentials (such as a username/password, or as simple as an ID number, depending on your needs) so that you can identify the source. Depending on how your script is called, you might also want to check the Referer header. Remember, though, that any data that comes from an outside source can be forged.