[SOLVED] DropDown File Directory

monkeytooth

Yea, I'm sure this is listed somewhere on the www and or even here but I am definitely not searching right cause I keep coming up with close but no cigar..

Anyway I'm just trying to make a simple form for myself to help administer one of my sites I'm working on So I can update a little easier, this isn't a boxed site just for reference. But I do have magic quotes enable via my host. Not that that may or may not make a difference but I'm throwing it out there anyway.

What I am trying to do is populate a drop down list with a given directory, or if it isn't possible a normal list, though considering the HTML aspect of how to lay both out I would figure its doable either way. The kicker is I just want it to list image files jpg gif bmp png.. alpha-numerically ie:

1.jpg

1.gif

a.gif

b.jpg

I know I gotta use a while loop or a do loop, but this is my first time really playing with directories or contents there of.. so any and all help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

$the_array = Array(); 
$handle = opendir('/cards'); 
while (false!== ($file = readdir($handle))) { 
if ($file!= "." && $file!= ".." &&!is_dir($file)) { 
$namearr = split('\.',$file); 
if ($namearr[count($namearr)-1] == 'jpg') $the_array[] = $file; 
if ($namearr[count($namearr)-1] == 'gif') $the_array[] = $file; 
} 
} 
closedir($handle);

is what im working with but I think its probally a crap example to what I want to do overall.. this is the only example I could find out there that was remotely close to what I want to do.. but at the same time not..

Here's an amended snippet illustrating how to sort:

$d = array();
$dirs=opendir($base);
while (($dir=readdir($dirs))!==false)
{
$d[] = $base.$dir;
}
sort($d);