newby expanding menus

nezbo

Hi all

I am just starting out with javascript today, but i have been doing php for about 6 months and loving it  ;D.

I have this code that i have found and i am modifiying and i am not to sure how to get it to work...

what i am trying to do is when you click on the top table it drops down the menus. or it starts with the ment open then minimises it when it it clicked on...

This is what i have so far...

<script language="javascript">
function showLinks()
{
document.getElementById('myLinks').style.display='block';
}
function hideLinks()
{
document.getElementById('myLinks').style.display='none';
}
if (document.getElementById('myLinks').style.display = 'block')
{
var linka = 'onclick="hideLinks()"';
}
else
{
var linka = 'onclick="showLinks()"';
}
</script>

<table align="center" border="1">
<tr><td><a onclick="hideLinks()">test</a></td></tr>
<tr id="myLinks" style="display:block"><td><a href="http://www.google.com">Google</a></td></tr>
</table>

You're off to a good start. You just need to write a function that listen to a click of the test link

Here is how I would do it

window.onload = function(){

var link = document.getElementById('test_link');

link.onclick = function(){

var myLinks = document.getElementById('myLinks');

if(myLinks.style.display == 'block'){

//call function to hide

}else{

//call function to show

}

return false; //so that nothing happens when the link is clicked

};

};

I didn't really read I just looked... here's my two penneth, but it always seems to get bigger...

function hideLinks()
{
var e = document.getElementById('myLinks').style;
if(e.display == 'none')
{
	//e.display = 'inline';
	e.display = 'block';
	//e.display = 'list-item';
}
else
{
	e.display = 'none';
}
}
</script>

<tr><td><a onclick="hideLinks()">test</a></td></tr>
<tr id="myLinks" style="display:block"><td><a href="http://www.google.com">Google</a></td></tr>
</table>

So I tried some things like for this:

function hide_links(lname)
{