user account types

metalhead41

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to php so please be gentle ;)

I'm currently building a site thats going to have a staff only area. Now hears the where it gets a bot confusing, I only want one or 2 people when they login to be able to upload files and see the download files as well. (The upload script appends files to the download script). the people uploading are going to be the ones in charge of this area. I've got an idea how to do the if statement side of things to show different bits, I'm just confused as to how to give user's certain access rights...

I'm assuming this will be acheived with a relational database. The other thing as well, is I don't want the user's registering the accounts, I will be adding them in (it's a school site, so don't want the kids getting access ;D).

How would I go about this?

user_level 1 = user

user_level 2 = admin

where user_level is a table on your database

Check user_level on login, if they have auth level 2 give them the admin links else give them the standard user links.

MAKE SURE you check auth level on all your "restricted pages" if they don't meet the auth level required, either direct them to login if they haven't or tell them they aren't authorized to access that page.

You could have a field in the members table called mem_admin or maybe mem_can_upload or whatever you need. Then set it to "1" for people you want to have access and "0" otherwise. Then when they log in assign that value to the $_SESSION array... then just check the value of it on any page with restricted access.

That's a very basic way of doing it but it will work.