How can I create a drop down menu that reserves appointment times?

peter12338

hi there - I'm a relative newbie to all things php - I've got as far as installing the phpbb forum and a chat on my site, and I've got webcalendar working too. But I really want to do something that thus far, I cannot find a 'template' for.

I simply want to give 20 people the ability to book an appointment with me over a set couple of days.

It could be a simply radio button thing that enables them to select the time they want from a list of available times.

However, I need that list of available times to UPDATE each time someone selects their appointment time. So I don't get duplicates.

Can you tell me where I start - is this a php/sql thing - and if it is, can you tell me where I might look for help?

..or better still, have you seen a similar thing done before?

Thanks SO much,

Peter

Don't know about a "drop down menu" to do what you want to do but I have just built a scheduling package for my band that allows any band member to login and then schedule a gig date.

My application requires a minimum of two tables.  One for the schedule itself, date, times and a pointer field to the location (in your case it would probably be the the client) data. One for the client's info (could be used for login verification containing user id and password) so you'll know who's scheduled.

I'm sure some of the old pros around here can tell you a better way but I'd present the person wanting to schedule an appointment with a display of what times are filled (quicker queries) and allow them to choose anything that isn't already scheduled if that's the way you want to do it.