[SOLVED] Only one RewriteRule working

themistral

Hi guys,

I am having a problem in that only the first rule is working.

If I comment out the first rule, the second one works fine.

Any ideas what might solve it?

Options +FollowSymlinks
RewriteEngine on
RewriteBase /
RewriteRule ^(.*)\.html$ index.php?page=$1 [L]
RewriteRule ^(.*)-(.*)\.html$ shows.php?id=$1&name=$2 [L]

If you intended to chain them then you've marked both rules as the last rule without additional RewriteCond statements

If not then the first rule matching means the 2nd won't match after rewrite since the 1st rewrites to index.php and the 2nd matches to *.html

Have you tried enabling logging and watching the rewrite process using tail -f ??

I have taken out the [L] after the first rule, but it's still not working correctly.

I am still new to this so just to check, my understanding is that the first rule applies to the index.php page only and the second to shows.php.

I am trying to sort my server out for error logging - currently getting an internal server error  ???

I have used

RewriteLog "C:\my\file\path\rewrite.log"
RewriteLogLevel 9

I am running this on a local machine so I can mess around with server configs easily if pointed in the right direction!

Since you can have more than one rule in your config each block of rules (up to the [L] - Last) may or may not apply for a given clause or condition

Once rewritten subsequent rules are NOT ignored altogether or "skipped" as with a programming language script. Obviously if that were the case you could only have one rule in your config files!.

Once a URL is rewritten subsequent rules are checked against the URL to see if they also apply

The only way to really understand what is happening is to enable debug logging and watch this stuff in real time using "tail"

Some particularly unexpected things often happen with rules - the only way to be sure is check the logs.

RewriteEngine On
    RewriteLogLevel 9
    RewriteLog logs/rewrite.log